Sign in to follow this  

Need some serious help! Carb and fuel lines

Straight noob here. Please only give helpful and positive feedback.

-2000 Suzuki RM100

So long story short I acquired this dirt bike and have been trying to fix it up. I have never owned a dirt bike before and I am doing all the repairs myself. I rebuilt the carb and did a whole bunch of other stuff and now I am trying to reinstall the carb and hook up all the lines (Fuel, overflow, vacuum, etc...) but I do not know where any of them go. I have looked all over the internet trying to find out where they go and have had no luck. Please if some could help me out by telling me where to plug what line and where on the carb. I'm pretty mechanically inclined and I know I should have taken pictures before tearing this bike apart but I didn't and this problem is blowing my mind. 

This is a line coming off the radiator

IMG_0581.jpg

This is a line coming from the Engine. I think it's vacuum line

IMG_0582.jpg

This is my carb with the connections but I do not know which hose to connect where

IMG_0583.jpg

Another shot of the carb

IMG_0584.jpg

Edited by JMO18

First pic image 0581:

That is the radiator overflow hose, it just has to be zip-tied along the frame pointing towards the ground, doesn't plug anywhere.

In the event you engine overheats the expanding coolant is expelled out of the radiator onto the ground.

Second pic image 0582:

That appears to be the gearbox breather hose, it vents out any pressure build-up in the transmission to avoid damaging seals.

That too is simply to be routed towards the ground, usualy exits between the rear of the engine and the swing arm.

Edited by mlatour

Third pic, image 0583

You can see two hose 'fittings' on the carburator, a top and a lower one. As an educated guess I would say:

The top one is an overflow / vent, again you simply route a line towards the ground, in the event of a tip-over