Sign in to follow this  

2003 KTM 450 EXC $1700 vs 2006 Yamaha TT-R250 $1200

I'm looking to buy a motorcycle to use all-purpose here in Baja, Mexico. I'd be using it 90% on bumpy paved and dirt roads, but would like to be able to cruise down the beach on it and occasionally get into some real off-road desert trails. I want to be able to occasionally cruise comfortably on the highway at 70mph for an hour or two. I'm not interested in racing, jumping, or pushing the bike hard off-road. Reliability and low, easy maintenance are important factors for me, as is range and economy.

I've found a 2003 KTM 450 EXC for $1700 in good shape.. and a 2006 Yamaha TT-R250 for $1200 that looks more worn but runs well. The TTR leaks oil I'm not sure how much or from where. I'm new to the world of these kind of bikes, but so far I think I understand:

-both being 6 speed bikes are well geared for the highway

-both are capable for what I need off-road

-the TTR is a simpler bike so maybe less and cheaper maintenance

-the TTR will get better gas mileage

-the KTM is more powerful, capable, better built, and potentially a better deal even though its expensive

Id rather spend less money than more... but if there are very compelling reasons to get the KTM I will. What do you guys think?