Sign in to follow this  

New to riding, should I be complaining?

So I am a total newb to motorcycle riding and wanted to get into a bit of ADV. I got myself a second hand '08 DRZ400E practically brand new and decided to do ,what I though, was the right thing and have a mechanic look at it before I did to much riding.

Now my problem is after the service and fitting of new tyres (which they botched, that is another story) I got the bike back with a fair amount of oil left around the sump plugs the bike was left with grease smears all over the plastics and seat from the filthy mechanic, cosmetic mostly and not much of a worry outside of general attention to detail.

The part that seriously concerned me however both of my seat bolts were BEARLY finger tight, I discovered this when the front of my seat was shifting a good half inch either way on the ride home.

I feel like I now have to go back over every fastener and check to make sure nothing else is botched up.

This is something I do plan to do on a regular basis myself anyway but don't feel I should have to 10km (of bitumen) after a full service.

Is this pretty much par for the course with Motorcycle mechanics? (this buisness came with high recommendationsin my area) or do I have cause for ripping strips off the mechanic? How bad was the seat bolts being that loose realistically?

Find a real mechanic, not 'some guy who claims he is one'. You have cause for 'ripping strips'.

Your bike should of been returned clean and proper. Nothing 'botched', nothing loose. Any work not done but needed, listed for the the next time. Advice given on how to do basic owner maintenance.

• Like 9

So I am a total newb to motorcycle riding and wanted to get into a bit of ADV. I got myself a second hand '08 DRZ400E practically brand new and decided to do ,what I though, was the right thing and have a mechanic look at it before I did to much riding.