Sign in to follow this  

Crossfit and moto

I have been doing crossfit competitively for about 6 months now and thought I'd give my opinion on how it has affected my riding ability.

I would say I am a mid pack A rider in the desert and just decent at track riding. Before crossfit about halfway through a 100 mile course I would start to make small mistakes as I got tired. After crossfit I am much more fluid and relaxed and don't get arm pump anymore. I am a firm believer that seat time is the best way to get into shape for riding, but crossfit seems to get you in shape for just about anything you do.

I know alot of people will say crossfit is stupid and dangerous. But in reality, bad coaches and bad boxes are what is dangerous. Find a good box and stick with crossfit for a few months and I guarantee you will agree with me!

Anyone else out there do crossfit?

• Like 1

Desertbound - I agree with you 100% that being strong with developed balance is THE key element to going both fast and for a long time.  Like you said, bad coaches and bad boxes are the issue.  Add to this a clear focus of why you are training - to be faster on the motorcycle.  Pay attention to signs associated with over-training and you will be amazed how much better you will feel on the bike.  Keep up the good work!

Yours in sport and health,

-Coach Robb

blogentry-404843-0-05581000-1438367297.g

I was a regular "3 sets of 10" Globo gym guy for a while until my girlfriend convinced my to try Crossfit.... I haven't been back to a "Globo gym" in about 2 years.

Edited by Truck216
  • Like 1

The only thing that crossfit has done for me is make all my riding gear to big. haha

if you're getting too skinny from doing Crossfit you need to take the strength portion more seriously. I do two days CrossFit one day Olympic lifting and have jumped from 175 to 195 since starting crossfit earlier this year.
  • Like 1