Sign in to follow this  

Picked up a 95 RM 250 with low compression

Hey all, I am brand new to dirt bikes. I picked up a 95 RM 250 that occasionally will start and run but only after I am out of breath and sore from kicking. First thing I did was download the manual. Today I bought a compression gauge and bike measured at 93 psi cold, throttle open, multiple kicks. Put a little 2 stroke oil down the plug hatch and compression jumped to 130 psi. I assume I need a new top-end. I have a cylinder bore gauge on order and my plan, after scouring forums for the past week, is to measure the inside of the cylinder to see if it is in spec or if its been bored out, and measure to the piston with some calipers to double check it was running a std piston. Then I was going to order a kit to fit whatever my results are and see if this does the trick. I can easily hand crank the kick starter as well and after I poured a little oil down the plug hole I was able to much better find TDC and could feel the improved compression. However, still didn't start. Am I going down the right road? 

I was also planning on cleaning the carburetor out. I have no idea what size jets are in it, and haven't researched how to determine which are which. I also have not adjusted the choke as I figured with that compression its time for a rebuild and then get into the fuel delivery? Thoughts?

Sorry so long, been making mental plans but I do not know anyone who knows anything about these bad boys. Also, no idea if t  his has any mods or not. Thanks!

IMG_1797.JPG

No replies. Sad. 

Well I used the manual and completed a top end rebuild and this is the most mechanical thing I have ever attempted. The cylinder was shiny but the old piston was cracked vertically. I checked bore and was in spec, check ring gap, in spec. Install went well.

I spent about 45 min breaking the engine in, started first kick, compression was at 170.