Sign in to follow this  

Hot starting trouble

Hi, I'm pretty new to MX, but not new to bikes... I've recently bought an '08 Honda CRF250R, which starts ok I guess, but when its really hot, eg. after 10 mins use, it doesnt start well, and will need to rest for 5 mins. I'll use the hot start, and when it eventually does start again, the hot start does help, so I don't think thats completely knackered. Does the hot start just lean it out?

So I'm going to look at the valves/shims, and make sure the carb seems ok, but which way would help the bike start when hot: bigger or smaller shims? Or is it just a case of experimenting?

Thanks

Edited by Bufort

Cold start procedure:

gas on / choke on / NO THROTTLE / kick slowly a few times / KICK HARD

If it's under 65 degrees F, it might take a pull on the thrrotte once or twice before kicking.

Hot start procedure:

NO THROTTLE OF ANY KIND / KICK EASY TILL IT STARTS

- try the choke again if needed.

If you can't start it this way, you have a valve clearance problem

...you also have to get an R&D remote fuel screw so once it's hot, you can properly adjust the fuel screw for the best running

To add.... many people excessively richen the pilot circuit in the mistaken belief 'all bikes are too lean', that the pilot circuit will richen everything significantly and because they put on an open pipe and now it backfires.

I you can close the fuel screw and the bikes stalls, the pilot jet is not too rich. If it still runs, carefully remove it and check the size, it should be a 42 or a 45, no larger.

• Like 1

What choke? I thought these bikes were set up for starting cold and therefore have the hot start to lean it when hot - opposite to a road bike where it's set up to start hot and therefore have the choke to richen it when cold.

It had a 42 jet but changed it to a 40 but had no effect. The bike doesn't have issues starting cold, doesn't backfire, and runs really well on the track.