Can i handle a 2016 yz250

So i have been riding for a couple years now, and i have only owned fourstrokes. I had a crf150f, then a yz250f, and i recently sold that to pay for my truck. I want to get back into riding, and i am thinking about getting a 2016 yz250. I dont have any friends that own two strokes, and i have never ridden a two stroke. My other option for a new bike is a yz250fx. I ride mostly trails, i have a small track that my friends and i built. I like to think of myself as an ok rider. I am definatly not the best, but i am also not the worst. On my yz250f, i could easily handle the power, and sometimes i wanted a bit more. I know that the yz250 2t has a lot more power than my old bike, and i just want to know, based on the info i told you, if a yz250 2t would be a good bike for me. Also, i am 200lbs and 6ft.

Edited by TWshark

Yeah at your size, weight and experience level you'll have no problems. Just take it easy. It isn't so much that a 2 stroke has a lot more power as it is the power delivery is very different. I would ride my friend's CR250 when I was 16 years old and 140 pounds. I was a pretty bad rider and had no problems. But I owned a 2 stroke 125 at that time though so I understood how two strokes get on the pipe. Once you figure out how the 2-stroke delivers the power you'll be fine.

Edited by Doc_d

Maybe you could bolt on a GYTR flywheel at first if the YZ250 is too much of a handfull on trails.

Perhaps consider the new YZ250X instead,

unless you race motocross competitively, it's likely a better overall package if you mostly trailride and occasionaly do MX tracks.

Edited by mlatour