Sign in to follow this  

Putting cr85 forks onto a crf230f?

I own a 2014 crf230f and I plan on customising it. I'm getting 2015 plastics to fit on it, new graphics, and a new fmf pipe for it. I'd love to get new forks as I don't really like the look of the stock forks. I read on these forums and found that cr85 forks can fit on a crf230f. I was thinking of getting some of the newest model forks (2004 or 2005). I assume that it will be the big wheel version of the cr85 who's forks will fit on the crf230. The seat height between these two bikes are 2mm, and the seat height difference between the original cr85 is about 2 inches. I'm not very experienced with this kind of stuff so if anybody could walk me through the process of buying, changing, and riding with, these custom forks. Or is there any other forks that will make a good fit? Thanks

They are not bolt on. Many people on the forum would recommend that you get your forks re valved by Bruce Triplett, but since you want the looks of the inverted forks you will need to change your triple clamps for inverted forks. Also you front wheel wouldn't fit. That's all I know. Maybe if you mount fork guards low on the forks it will give the inverted forks look you are looking for.  :goofy:

Edited by Q47

They are not bolt on. Many people on the forum would recommend that you get your forks re valved by Bruce Triplett, but since you want the looks of the inverted forks you will need to change your triple clamps for inverted forks. Also you front wheel wouldn't fit. That's all I know. Maybe if you mount fork guards low on the forks it will give the inverted forks look you are looking for.  :goofy:

There's more to it than that.  Add about $300 in machining, axle, and brake adapter.  Then you need stronger springs.

There's more to it than that.  Add about $300 in machining, axle, and brake adapter.  Then you need stronger springs.

Seems like a lot for a fashion statement.

• Like 1