Sign in to follow this  

08 crf450r start up

Is there any tricks to starting a 450. I bought one a while back and have a heck of a time starting it. I could start my 250 just fine. My cousin will get on my 450 and start it right up.

I am new to the crf450 and I had found so far that you don't have to kick it hard just hard enough to get it to turn over the harder I kicked it the less it wanted to start

Hello & Welcome

Below is a copy and paste from an old thread.

I have owned a few 4 stoke MX bikes of different makes and models over the years from 250's to my ride now CRF450R 2005

The one thing that all these bikes had in Common is that if well maintained and serviced they all started first or second kick hot or cold, if you have the starting technique worked out for that bike.

I am that confinent that I have bet & won beer on my bikes starting first kick hot or cold

My starting technique for the CRF 450R      2005

Cold start:    Pull choke, three full twist of the throttle.

Kick slowly to top dead centre and then that easy 1/16 kick past TDC

( Decompression )

Now let the Kickstarter come all the way back up to the top.

Put your foot on Kickstarter and push down slowly until there is resistance against it -- about 1 ½ inch down

Hold the front brake on, this will stop you accidently twisting the throttle while kicking. DO NOT TWIST THE THOTTLE when you kick you will flood the bike :banghead:

Now with one smooth hard kick, Kick all the way through , bike should start.  :ride:

One good strong kick is better than 100 medium kicks

you just won a 6 pack of beer off your mate that bet you it wouldn’t start in one kick. 😛

The above will work for all 4 stoke bikes the only difference that I have found is how many twist of the throttle when cold

With the 250,s I have found that two twist work better.