Sign in to follow this  

Front wheel washing out

Hey, I'm new to dirt bikes. Currently on a 2011 CRF450R. Having some dramas controlling the front end. Seems to skid out when going around berms. Only riding on the local track, not racing yet. Have played around with tyre pressures. Any and all tips are very welcome. Cheers

Try going out 2 on compression and in 2 on rebound ( for washing not "tucking")

I have been riding dirt bikes and still can tell the difference between washing out and tucking.

I have been riding dirt bikes and still can tell the difference between washing out and tucking.

Tucking- bike over steers, cuts corner so fast you literally go over the bars, high side

Washing out- bike slides out beneath you, low side

Tucking- bike over steers, cuts corner so fast you literally go over the bars, high side

Washing out- bike slides out beneath you, low side

so in tucking the front tire doesn't lose traction?

Edited by 91kdx25088

Okay, what I mean by "washing out" is the front tyre slides away from me and yes there is a bit of over steering. Please keep in mind I'm relatively new to this and I can't say if the suspension is set up for me properly. I'm yet to get to that part.

Start with the basics, set ur sag etc before just clicking away. Springs for ur weight? All makes a HUGE difference in corner handling.

It may be as simple as entry speed being too fast or the bike not being leaned over far enough. The faster the approach dex, the further you need to lean. Start slowly and get the technique correct before increasing your speed

What type of dirt and what psi are you running. Without knowing your setup, have you tried 12-14? I used to keep mine way higher...bike handled just like you describe.

I run 11 psi on a mx32 front... my bet is body position on seat.

• Like 1

Start with the basics, set ur sag etc before just clicking away. Springs for ur weight? All makes a HUGE difference in corner handling.