Sign in to follow this  

Any reason to not by an '03 Vs. 05-08?

Hey everyone,

So I actually made it through several searches and the entire(yikes!)FAQ thread before posting this and have some questions.

I think I want to get a 450R before springtime and there's a really nice looking '03 for sale at a good price. There's also several '05-08's but close to $1500-$2000 more. The '03 looks completely stock and the others have some minor mods. But the way I see it is I'm going to changing things to suit me anyway, so the mods may mean nothing to me. I'm light and will be riding in the high desert, so a mix of flowy single track and I want to explore the dunes and possibly Colorado next year. My 125 isn't gonna cut it, as I'm already wringing it's neck on my easy home trails.

So, all else being equal in terms of condition is there any reason to avoid an '03? Like horrible handling traits or something expensive that's needed to fix the older models?

I'm a motorcycle tech, so before I do anything it'llI've least get a full or partial tear down and a flywheel weight, handguards, G2 throttle 400 cam, and suspension re-valve. Reading on TT seems to lead up to "get a 250F" for my C-level speed, but my goal is to have a torquey, but quick-handling 450 to ride on a huge variety of terrain and do some off-road races. I'm good with throttle and clutch control, but riding my 125 at race speed for a few hours is killing my elbows(tendonitis) and really tiring from constant clutch work.

Thanks for your input,

Chris

"but quick-handling 450" to ride on a huge variety of terrain and do some off-road races