Sign in to follow this  

250x top clamp compatibility

I'm new to the Yamaha game and just picked up a 250x, I still ride and race a 15'husqvarna te300. Even with the bars mounts as far forward as they will go the bars still feel like they're in my lap.

Would anyone happen to know if any year four stroke top clamp with the two holes would fit the 250x? Thanks for any help!

The recent 4-stroke triple clamps have a 22mm offset (verses the YZ's 25mm), so a simple upper clamp swap will not work...

UNLESS Yamaha changed the offset on the YZX to match the 4-strokes. :excuseme:

Some of the "earlier" 4-strokes (2009-11?) had 25mm offset triple clamps with two pairs of bar-mount holes, but I'm not sure what year they changed to 22mm.

So first we need to know if the YZX triples are 22mm offset, or just carryover 25mm.

If they are 25mm there are aftermarket top triple clamps with a greater fore/aft bar mount position, or you can research around to find which year 4-stroke clamps were 25mm with 2 bar-mount positions.

Your idea is a popular one, so please share any info you find. 👍

Another option is Windham-bend bars (AKA RM tall or KTM). They have less sweep and give a bit more room in the cockpit. They're a good match for the YZ.

I have found that the yzx has 25mm offset and the inside fork hole measurement is 55.96mm. The new 250f is 22mm and the inside fork hole is 53.xx.

From what I can tell a 10-11 250f top clamp may be the ticket but need to find a measurement on the fork hole. The entire triple won't swap since the stem lenght is different than the yzx.

This is what I know so far

And a BRP top clamp will move your position away from rider by 6mm which I was told is what you get by flipping your offset clamps. So with brp and mounts close to you is like stock clamp with mounts flipped away from you.

The entire triple won't swap since the stem lenght is different than the yzx.

Good research!