Sign in to follow this  

Setting sag in forks 2005 KX250

Hey all,

I'm short and 130 pounds without gear. I'm trying to figure out a set up for my front forks. Yesterday I called PR2 and it surprised me that they recommended only one level lighter of a spring, at .42kg. Yet the rear spring was calculated at 4.8 So...

I do exclusively woods riding and hillclimbing. And up front in feels very stiff. I've already ordered a 4.8 spring for the back. Can I get away with the stock rate front springs? I was hoping that there's a way to adjust the sag, but I don't believe I have preload adjusters on this bike.

Suggestions? Sorry if this has been dealt with ad nauseum but I searched and couldn't come up with any answers. In fact, very little written on the sag issue. I also apologize for my very little experience in suspension. I'm still learning, but only by what I've read so far.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Bron-Yr-Aur

K tech chart says 0.39 and 4.5

Yeah that's where it gets confusing for me. PR2 said .42 and Racetech online calculator said .37. I hope that I didn't mess up ordering a 4.8 rear. Of course, anything has to be better than what I have.

Here's the situation (sorry I ran out of lunch break on my first post):

On a gentle flat landing from a jump, both front and back are nice and plush. But just cruising down a gravel road with occasional rocks, it seems like I can feel every little rock, from the front in particular. PR2 said possibly too much preload in the forks. But how do I adjust it?! I know very little about these cartridge shocks. I know conventional pretty well, but that doesn't help here, eh?

So .42 didn't seem like a big enough step to warrant $130+ shipping. Whereas going to a .37 or .39 would.

Clickers are out on compression and rebound. I'm thinking back in a little on rebound? But that still (I think) doesn't get to the root of the problem.

Edited by Bron-Yr-Aur