Sign in to follow this  

Favorite MX tires?

I have a 05 Yz250f and could Def use a new back tire. My front tire looks to be in good shape but was wondering if changing both to the same model tire was important.

I am looking for a good intermediate grade tire any recommendations or previous experiences with a make and model you liked?

This is my first time ordering tires so any advice would be great Thanks!

I use the m403/404 combo currently, I wasnt sure of exactly what I wanted but I got them cheap. They are a good everywhere tire, I ride in hard pack trails sometimes and then in northern MI sand the rest of the time and they arent perfect for either, but not horrible. I believe they have been replaced now so that probably wont be much help, I think they call them X30 or something(the number is wrong im sure).

It is not inportant for the tires to be the same make front and back, youll probably find at least half of people dont have matching tires. Im interested in the replies as Ill probably need a new set before too long after the snow melts.

Edited by CRFRida1605
  • Like 1

Agree with nascar. I have the mx32 on one bike and LOVE them. The only prob is they wear out quickly on hardpack terrain/tracks. I just put the 52s on my kids bike but we haven't had it out yet. Rumor is it works great and holds up a little better than the 32. I figure when the kids are buying their own tires they can put on the ones they want, til then they get ones that last a little longer.

• Like 1

To OP, also depends if your intermediate conditions tend to turn hard once the track dries out,

or if sometimes track conditions are rather 'soft' due over-watering. Any sand in certain sections ?

As most 'which tire' threads you"ll get 100 different answers, some people are fans of specific brands,

some prefer to trade off longetivity for better traction or vice-versa.

What type of riding do you do ?

Any trail/off-roading, or race only ?

Edited by mlatour
  • Like 1