Sign in to follow this  

Thoughts on powder coating cases

Looking for thoughts on powder coating my cases and jug and head on my bike . My last bike I built I had it painted and did not even last one season . Washed on very low pressure even. Looking for some opinions . Thanks

anodize is the proper way to go as far as scratch resistance, durability and heat transfer.

also powder coating covers the microscopic porous of the aluminum and acts as a heat insulator, though you could powder coat the side cases only if you wish but avoid head, cylinder and cases.

best is just media blast the bare aluminum 🙂

Edited by ByronK
  • Like 1

Ive never heard of people having overheating or performance issues from powder coating. With that being said I'm no expert and I've never taken a poll on the subject. Is this something you've experienced performance issues with?

anodize is the proper way to go as far as scratch resistance, durability and heat transfer.

also powder coating covers the microscopic porous of the aluminum and acts as a heat insulator, though you could powder coat the side cases only if you wish but avoid head, cylinder and cases.

best is just media blast the bare aluminum 🙂

I strongly agree with you

never had personal experience with this but is simple thermodynamics, coating the whole engine will make dissipating heat more difficult because of the powder forming a layer and because of the paint properties it will act as an "insulator".

you may not notice engine performance drop or overheating but the operating temps will rise by a few degrees so possibly at higher ambient temp you may notice overheating more easily. on the other hand is safe/good when running the engine at low ambient temps, will help to bring up the engine temp easier.

purely performance wise - bare aluminum or anodize is best choice imo.

• Like 1