Sign in to follow this  

from stroker to smoker or not

ARE THE 300 SMOKERS AS GOOD AS THEY SAY, I have an 04 and 05 450exc now and love them, I also have 2 adult sons that ride, I will be getting a new bike soon, it is very easy to find people that ride 300's that say it is like cheating, I also have ran into a couple of riders my age that said I probably would not like it. I am a mechanic so understand the differences in maintenance. Have any of you guys ridden the smokers and went back to a stroker? I am a moderate trail rider 6ft 170lbs 49yr old. don't race but can hold my own on the trail. From what I can find there is only 15lbs difference between them, just not sure I would like the smoker seems like they would be harder to ride (clutch work, brake work, getting traction)

ANY INSIGHT WOULD BE APPRECIATED Thanks,

I have a 2015 husky fe350s. It's been seriously tricked out, but still, it's an awesome trail bike and very smooth.

I rode a friends ktm 300 two stroke on the same trails. That bike tried to yank my arms off all day! I'm 6' 1" and 215lbs and in pretty good shape.

My friend works on my bike and another just like it. He just traded the 300 for the 500ktm four stroke because he liked the 4 strokes much better. He cursed me for making him do it...

Lot's of different variables. For uglier technical terrain, the 300 is hard to beat. Once it opens up more, the big bore 4 strokes are more at home. With a 250/300 it might not have as much torque as a 450, but will rev down to practically nothing without stalling. 4 strokes have a tendency to stall at those speeds. I don't see the weight as a huge dissadvantage on the 4 strokes, if anything it helps keep them in a straight line at higher speeds. 

I actually find my 450 harder to ride because of the surge of power and then deceleration when you chop the throttle... makes it kinda herky-jerky at low speeds.