Sign in to follow this  

Mx boot vs Stump

I have been riding dirt for 25 years. Never owned a pair of mx boots, I am a very cautious rider on the track and in the woods. I am getting into more hare-scramble stuff these days but where I ride there are alot of hidden stumps in the grass. I would like to go faster but the fear of clipping a stump keeps me slowed down. I could care less about the bike or bending a foot peg, but what happens when you smack a 12" high stump at 20mph with mx boots? Will the boot hold up or just fold under the peg and shatter my foot?

the stumps I am talking about are just high enough to reach the pegs, so if I am shifting, the toe of my foot is lower then the pegs, thats my concern

Any tips for riding in these conditions, thanks

Edited by OldRM

I too rode a long time without boots and only in the last 6 years have worn boots, and now i can't go for a 1 hour blap without them.

when I do ride without i find myself less confident .

IMO

• Like 2

They are a lot like ski boots and your ankles and toes will love you for it if you were to come across a stump

• Like 2

What have you been wearing on your feet while riding for the last 25years?  I rode a few years in workboots, then went to cheap MXboots after getting my toes crushed, went to premium boots after an encounter with a hidden stump

• Like 1

This past summer I hit a rock projecting out into the trail with my shin, I was clipping along in 4th gear.  Didn't really even feel it other than it knocked me off track a bit.  And the boots I was wearing aren't $500 boots either, they're a $100 pair of Fly Mavericks.

BTW, I understand your concern about hitting hidden stumps, the wrecks at speed when that happens can be rather spectacular. :crazy:  I hit a root projecting out into a single track with the bottom of the fork leg, the result was the endo to end all endos. :eek: