Sign in to follow this  

07 decent quality chain

I want replace my chain on my 07, the old one I have on the bike was/is rubbing on the case causing a groove. I was told this is because it's an older o-ring chain (apparently they were wider than the new ones). So I'd like to get a new o-ring or x-ring chain (not sure what the difference is). I'd like something decent quality with cheapest price obviously. Is there a way know how many links I need without going out to my bike and counting them all. I'm assuming if I change sprockets sizes, this will also affect the length I need. Currently running 13/50. I'm thinking I might go to 13/52. Asking because I have no experience with chains, good or bad. Thanks In advance.

I want replace my chain on my 07, the old one I have on the bike was/is rubbing on the case causing a groove. I was told this is because it's an older o-ring chain (apparently they were wider than the new ones). So I'd like to get a new o-ring or x-ring chain (not sure what the difference is). I'd like something decent quality with cheapest price obviously. Is there a way know how many links I need without going out to my bike and counting them all. I'm assuming if I change sprockets sizes, this will also affect the length I need. Currently running 13/50. I'm thinking I might go to 13/52. Asking because I have no experience with chains, good or bad. Thanks In advance.

DID 520VT2 chain is narrow so it won't rub your case and wears very well. Chain will come in 120 links. Move axle all the way forward and install chain (new sprocket first obviously) so you will know you have the correct links and which one to remove. Grind the rivets on link that needs removed and use chain tool.

Grinding both rivets makes the link not bind as you remove link and easier to remove. Buy a master link tool if you don't have one.

• Like 1

+1 on the DID VT2.  I get about 100 hours out of one.  Match it with the Ironman stainless steel sproket and you will be set.