Sign in to follow this  

XR650L - Starting woes, officially stumped...

Hi All,

I'm new to Thumper Talk - have been coming here and searching and reading for years and it has been immensely helpful. So kudos to this forum and the help provided.

I'm writing this because I can't find a solution after searching through these forums. Maybe the answer is here and I haven't found it, so sorry in advance if you've already put in the hard work of answering it. Just let me know where to look and I'll read it.

Situation:

2002 XR650L, FMF slip-on, DynoJetted, Smog apparatus removed, Clarke tank. 

I had starting woes about a year ago and through this forum figured out that it was my CDI. So I rebuilt/repaired it and bought a new one. After that, great starting.

I didn't ride much this fall and the bike sat a bit although I did start it from time to time. At one point, it would only start with choke engaged but not run after warm up. If I disengaged the choke, it would not run.

I had been expecting to re-build the carb because of some issues like float valve sticking open etc. and did so this past weekend. It really needed the rebuild - I cleaned everything very well and made sure all orifices were clean. When we put it all back together and flipped on the petcock, the dang float was stuck open and gas came out the drain. So we fiddled with that and it stopped.

When we put it all back together, it was a bit rough starting, but always fired on every crank - just took a bit to get it to stay running. Had to baby it, but it warmed up fast and ran like a scaled rat. A simple twist was lifting the front 6" or more off the ground. So power I haven't had in a long time. 

One thing I noticed - when starting for the first time, choke wasn't effective at all. I adjusted it a while back, but maybe it's whacked out. Or maybe I lost an o-ring?