Sign in to follow this  

Pros/cons for crossfit training?

Just curious who on here uses crossfit as a training element? We have a local crossfit gym in town and it's been around for a few years so I'm sure it's a good gym. But for someone training during the off season and I guess even during the season is that type of workout beneficial for someone who races? I'm really considering setting up a membership but would like some input.

• Like 1

I'm no fitness expert at all, but my opinion is that if you want to get fit it's going to take time and dedication. I see so many people getting hurt from crossfit because it's really not that great. You'll get results as long as you don't hurt yourself haha...

I think crossfit might be good for someone who is already very fit..

Just my opinion from what I've seen and heard about it though.

• Like 1

I am 56, been doing Crossfit for almost 3 years.  If you are smart with Crossfit and scale your workouts, then the lack of injury is greatly reduced.  The people that I seen getting hurt are usually doing more weight than they should and that is where the injuries are coming from.  

I'm 30, been doing Crossfit for almost 4 years now. Its the best workout I've ever done. I love it because of the overall aspect of fitness it covers. When I ride the only thing that ever really gets sore is my forearms. I don't get into some of the huge weights and complex movements like some of the other guys do there, but then again they don't ride MX either. If you watch weight you use and practice perfect form then you should be injury free. the only time I hurt myself was doing kettle bell swings with a weight I KNEW was to heavy but I went or it anyways, sprained back and three weeks out of the gym...lesson learned. Price is another issue for most, my gym is 95$ a month, some others are as much as 250$. I highly recommend it.