Sign in to follow this  

In need of some tips

Hey Guys,

I am in need of some tips on how to go about choosing a bike and dealer.   I have started the process to look for a Bike, but so far I have been feeling a bit dissapointed when dealing with the local dealers in town.

90% of my riding will be in the woods and off road.  I am a newbie kind of rider, so tricks and high speed / challenging stunts, won't necessarily be part of my DNA.   I am after enjoyment, but want to enjoy the right bike.  

With that said I have my heart on a Husquvara FE250.  This is my dream bike, I like the 2015 look the best and was shopping around for a over-stock or left over one from 2015 to save a bit of coin.  When calling around for pricing, I have been dissapointed in 2 areas: the advertised price and the out the door price, and 2nd, the lack of interest when dealing with the local dealers.

One dealer advertised a 250 (2015) for $7999.00, but when I asked what the bottom line is , they quoted $9500.00 (we only have a 5% tax here, so the rest is dealer prep etc.)   when I inquired about a 2016, the same bike goes to 11K, more than I would like to spend.  I also want to get a kick start on it, so the price will be higher,   Another dealer I called quoted me 11,200 with the kick start installed, but will have to order them.   The 2015 one, is their last one and it was sort of a "Take it or leave it" kind of feeling.  When I called, I also asked for a quote on the same bike with the kick start, but they never returned my call., so kinda dissapointed.

On another dealers website, they are selling a 2014 TC 250, but its MX, and has 50 hours on it (with a top and bottom end rebuild) for $6300 (don't know what the out the door price will be) as another option, but I am not sure if I will be happy with a MX bike or can get the Enduro package done for a reasonable price?