Sign in to follow this  

DIY air flow mods

So i have a 2005 crf230f and i wanted to drill some holes into the air box to permit more air flow to the engine i also wanted to drill some holes into the baffle to permit more air to leave the engine so am i right that i would need to re jet the bike after i do these mods? If so what jets should i use ill be riding from sea level to about 7000+ feet. I just wanted some advice before i go spending money on jets i don't need because i'm new to jetting carburetors.

-Thanks in advanced! 👍  :ride:

1. You don't want more air if it is turbulent, so don't 'drill holes' in anything. That is why they sell pipes.

2. You should know that motor is never going to get any real HP, because the head and carb are very restrictive.  It will make it run better, but not faster.

3. Yes you must rejet if you uncork the intake and exahust.

Google 'uncorking the CRF230" 

• Like 4

I agree those mods won't do anything , the f series aren't worth playing with as any mods worth doing will cost more than an upgrade to a larger sized engine or to the r version . Just focus on proper jetting and maybe get a after market pipe I guess if you just kinda wanna play with it . Drilling holes won't do anything good.

The right thing to do is invest is some plastic polish/cleaner and that sort of stuff for 30$ clean the crap out of it so it looks mint and totally stock ( no stickers or weird looking out of place Chinese billet stuff or holes in stuff) sell and get a larger bike or the r version or de-cork it ( if it even needs that ) mods decrease value per dollar spent . Drilling holes in stuff is even worse for resale.

• Like 1

From Mike Coe:

"This is what I recommend for your bike and all others with stock engine with exhaust baffle and airbox snorkel removed. I ride my stock bike from 0 - 6500+ elevation with no changes in jetting between the desert and mountains.

120 main jet (used to be 132)
45 pilot jet