Sign in to follow this  

Engine racing / erratic idle problem

I'm completely new to this sport.  I bought a 2005 YZ250F that had been sitting for a couple of years.  I rebuilt the carb and checked the valves, it can be hard to start when cold but does eventually fire up. I let it warm up on the choke and then set the idle with the choke off.

On my first visit to the track, I took off and rode through 4-5 corners (first time ever riding, I was going really, really, really slow!)  Pulling into the next corner it felt like the throttle was stuck open as the bike kept accelerating.  I dumped it/bailed off in the corner and it was still racing until I hit the kill button.  I wheeled it back into the pits and adjusted the throttle back down to a reasonable place.  I took off again and this time it died and wouldn't restart until I turned the idle adjustment back up, or gave it gas on the throttle.  Then while sitting (and not even touching the throttle) it started to race again. 

It basically seemed like there was a fast idle kicking in and then it would kick down to a regular idle.  If I adjusted the idle knob while it was on fast idle, it would die when it kicked down, but if I adjusted it while it was kicked down it would then race on to the fast idle.  It seemed to be totally random.  It made it really hard for me to ride because I kept being nervous going into a corner that it was going to try and take off on me.....

Any thoughts?

Damn!  I was really careful about trying to put this back in the right direction.... but you may be right.  I'm a rookie and it's possible that during the 5-6 times I had the carb off and apart that it got flipped.  I'll check it.  Thank you.

So I finally had a chance to spend some time in the garage.  The valve plate was installed correctly (with the hole at the bottom.)  The seal looked good.