Sign in to follow this  

Woods bike that can be (license) plated for a slow old guy :)

I've been riding bikes for 20+ years and race an R6, but only have about 5 total days of dirt time, and need more!  There is unfortunately, one requirement and one very strong want to have...  It HAS to be able to have a license plate (regardless of how 'legal' it really is, but needs a headlight), and I really WANT electric start.  The budget is also (unfortunately) crap - $2500 or less.

I live in central PA, so when it's not putting around in the pits at the (asphalt) racetrack, I'll mainly be riding terrain like low-speed woods with only moderate hills, maybe follow some friends around places like Rausch Creek, AOAA, etc. , and general sliding it around in the dirt for practice.  I don't have any problem taking 'the easy line' or not clearing the doubles when buddies on MX bikes start to rip on the faster stuff.  Hell, I had fun on a 4T 125, but I would like something with a bit more power if I'm going to own it.

--I'm used to street bikes going thousands of miles without maintenance, and it seems that dirtbikes are more maintenance intensive regardless if they're a 4T or 2T - Seems like despite the more frequent maintenance, it's stupid-simple and quick to do a top-end vs. messing with the needs of a 4T?

--From what I gather, a KTM EXC-F (Somewhere around 200cc, 2T) is along the lines of what I want and would fit the budget?  Also found a Yammy WR250R for just slightly over the budget that might be able to be negotiated.  Any suggestions are welcome, even a Kawi.  :banghead:

Thanks!

Edited by eskimo1