New bike time? Ktm? Beta?

I have been riding sport quads all my life and decided to get a bike last year. So I am new to bikes not new to riding. I ended up with a 2006 525sx I love the power but all the guys I ride with we do mostly single track and technical riding. The bike is working I have geared it down for the riding we do but I have the itch for a new bike, one that is geared more for the riding we do.

I really like the ktm 300xcw and the beta 300rr. My questions for the group are this.

1st being new I know that these bike are set up better for the riding we do but am I really going to notice a difference? And if so will it be enough to justify spending the extra money?

2nd. If I do get a new bike I am really torn between the ktm300 xcw and the beta 300rr. Any advice or comparisons that can be given on these to bike will be greatly appreciated

Only you can answer question #1. Have you ridden a 300? Do you love it?

If I was buying in 2015 I'd buy a Beta 300RR over the KTM 300 XC-W. Long story short, Beta's 300 was designed by the same team that designed KTM's 300. It's widely accepted as being a newer generation of the KTM motor. It has a better power valve, better pipe (more protected), oil injection and a properly engineered electric starter. Beta parts are also cheaper.

Here's the monkey wrench though. KTM is introducing a completely redesigned 300 in 2017 which should be out in several months. No one knows the details yet but that could leap frog past the Beta not only in terms of motor but also chassis and suspension.

So if you are buying today, pick up a Beta and don't look back. If you are waiting a bit, see what KTM bring out for 2017.

Edited by Doc_d

Thanks for the info I do like the beta I might go that way. Is the ktm 300 xc worth looking at? I would

Love to see what comes in 2017 but I don't know if I want to wait.

Also do the betas hold there value like a KTM

Edited by calebwcm