Quieting down that noisy XR

As all of us XR owners know, the XR is a noisy beast. All that valve noise coming out of the top end is normal (to a certain degree, of course), so we are used to it. I had my 03 apart to put new valves in, and I decided to switch brands of oil I had been using Amsoil for a couple years and thought it was quite good. But I switched to Lucas 20W50 synthetic motorcycle oil after seeing it at the auto parts store. I've always liked Lucas products so I figured I'd give it a try. I read a couple reviews from Harley owners, they said their bikes were amazingly quiet and ran cooler with the Lucas, sounded good to me.

So I go the bike back together, put 1.5 qts. of the Lucas in, and fired it up. Let it warm up a bit, and what the heck, I could barely hear the engine running. Took it for a ride and not only was it virtually silent, but it ran approximately 25* cooler (the 277 kit makes it run hot).

I highly recommend the Lucas, I was really amazed at what it did for the bike.

61XtYf51irL._SY355_.jpg

Edited by cjjeepercreeper
  • Like 1

this stuff is all i use, i can't remember if its in the full or semi synthetic form, but, best oil for the price, i've been really happy with it.

How's your clutch? Same as always before? Synthetic oils can have more frictions reducing additives, so that they last longer as well as increase efficiency. The clutch plates need friction to hold, so synthetics aren't always a good thing.

Nice results if it doesn't effect the trans!

How's your clutch? Same as always before? Synthetic oils can have more frictions reducing additives, so that they last longer as well as increase efficiency. The clutch plates need friction to hold, so synthetics aren't always a good thing.

Nice results if it doesn't effect the trans!