Bike won't start after valve adjustment

So please excuse me as I am new to the sport and this forum.  So I took my 2011 kx250 to the shop to have a tune-up because it wouldn't start without the choke (even when hot).  I was told the valves were slightly under spec and needed to be shimmed.  I told the shop to go ahead with the repair and yesterday I picked up the bike and when I got it home I couldn't get it to kick start.  The bike bump starts just fine and seems to run fine when started but I cannot for the life of me get it to kick start.  I called the shop and they said I need to start let it run for 30 minutes and stop the bike.  After doing this a few times it would kick start just fine from there forward?  I have searched high and low and cannot find any info on this?  I should note the bike is also considerably harder to kick now.  

I will admit I am not overly knowledgeable with all this, but this all seems like a load of crap to me.  In my head I keep thinking this must be a timing issue or bad shim job.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

Sorry more to add.  Also since this all happened the bike doesn't seem to idle.  I was going to check the timing but I have no Idea which marks are the top dead center, as there are a bunch of marks on the flywheel and they all look the same to me.  Does anyone have any pictures of what the TDC mark looks like?

Edited by rompup

Are giving your bike any throttle before or during trying to start it? That will make it almost impossible to kick start. Don't touch the throttle when starting cold. Just pull the choke, then kick through a couple of times from TDC. This charges the fuel injection system. It may start on the second kick. Should start on third kick, or possibly fourth. If not, take it back to the shop and have them show you how they do it. It should start, but do not touch that throttle.

The Kawasaki website has owners manuals online. Turn up your idle by turning the "choke" clockwise.