help me decide...350exc vs 500exc

ive been riding for 30 yrs.i raced moto on and off for 17 yrs.in the past 6 yrs ive owned a 2000 wr426 street legal,97 dr350 and a 02 xr650l..

i went to the ktm dealer and rode a exc500 with sm wheels and a 350exc.i only got to go up the block.i ride 65%road 35%offroad..for a 400 dollar price diff,what would you do?the offroad i do is kinda tight 25% off the time.the rode riding is to the offroad areas,7-20 miles each way..55-66 mph...im torn

500 and don't look back. For what little dirt you do and no matter how tight, the 500 will do everything the 350 will and surpass the 350 everywhere else in your other 65% areas.

• Like 2

When I bought the 500, the 350 was also an option, but one look at the final gearing ratio, no doubt the 500 . I believe the 350 was like 14/50 and the 500 was like 15/45 , that's all I had to see. That  stock gearing told me the difference between the motors could pull, cause stock gearing is never under geared.

For 65 mph either would work, but the 500 does really good on the street, especially once set up, otd they are very crude.

500 valve adjustments you don't have to touch the timing chain, also a single cam verses two.  500 cam lobes run against a roller bearing, activating pronged rocker arm, 350 lobes hit a hard pivot teeter totter finger which activates the valve, 500 should see less lobe wear with the roller design.

Edited by Spud786
  • Like 1

The 500 will pull highway speed effortlessly, and will work just fine in the tight stuff.  I personally would go 500 based on how much street riding you're doing to be doing.

500 and I own a 350. I am geared 13-52 which is perfect on the trails, but only does 35-40 comfortably. It will go 80+ but not for 20 miles. The 500 can run taller gears and still lug down.

ok,my gut kinda felt like 500 was the way to go.i gotta see if the dealer can get me a non supermoto one.is about 10780 before tax sound right?

under 11,200 tax, title included.