New CRF250X - Fuel Screw vs Idle Screw Confusion After Jetting

Hello all,

I recently bought a new 15 CRF250X and have completed the CCC mods minus the pink wire mod.  With the help of a friend, we installed the JD Jet Kit which called for 160 main jet, 42 pilot, and red needle.  The directions called for the bigger 160 main if removing the air filter screen which I did.  Lastly, directions called for 1 3/4 turns out on the fuel screw.

The bike fired up great but idle seemed a little lagging so I have been fiddling with the idle screw and the fuel screw and have not been able to get it dialed in.  Now I have myself totally buggered (i'm new to all this) on how to balance the fuel screw with the idle screw.  My bike currently is set at 1 3/4 turns out on the fuel screw but is difficult to start and hesitates when accelerating.

Is there a starting point on turns out on the idle screw?  And when having idling problems when should I use the fuel screw and when should I use the idle screw?

Any help would be much appreciated

To that I would add that if you find you have some pop on decel (assuming the smog pump is not in the picture), then go a 1/4 turn out more on the fuel screw.

Also at the end, you should raise the idle to 1,700 rpms.

What your doing is fine tuning the slow circuit.   When your done, you should find you land between 1 turn and 2 1/4 turns out.  If not then you have a slow jet that is too big (<1 turn) or too small (more than 2 1/4 out) and need to change jets.

You also can check your end result by doing the following on a warmed up bike at idle:

1. Pull the hot start slightly...rpms should rise.

2. Pull it all the way and the bike should die.

3. Pull the choke out and the bike should dies.

The reason for #1 is that by following that procedure, you end up slightly rich on the slow circuit.  So leaning things out slightly with the hot start makes the RPM's rise, but really leaning it out by pulling it all the way makes it die.