Ohlins RMZ450 to RMZ250 advise

Hello everyone.

Right so i have just bought a rear ohlins shock from an RMZ450 (Ohlins No. SU-15940) to put on my 2012 RMZ250.

Guess what i’m after is a bit of reassurance and guidance as i have zero experience with these shocks.

Got a bit of info from Kais (uk suspension tuner) over the phone.  

Valving.  He compared the two stacks between what Ohlins specify for the 450/250 units and suggested i try the 450 shock first and just play with the clickers.

Stock settings:

High Speed - 2    

Slow Speed - 12    

Rebound - 25

Then go up to 4 lighter on the slow speed compression & up to 4 lighter/faster on the rebound.

Springs.  Might be a bit funny as apparently ohlins go up in two step increments?  I'm currently running a 5.1 105mm race / 35or36mm free....and Kais suggested i go with a 5.0 so that’s what I’ve ordered to try out.  I weight 72kg in street clothes.

Thoughts?

Springs are not that close on rating to trust 0.1

Your Sag isn't bad.

I wouldn't change the spring.

Your Sag isn't bad.

I wouldn't change the spring.

current spring isn't compatible with the new shock i am afraid

I run my fox shock from my rmz450 on my rmz250 and my rm250. I have to open up the clickers more on the rmz250 and for some reason it's softer in the rm250 than it is on the rmz250. I run one spring rate less than from the rmz450. I know it's not an ohlins but figured my experience may help.

Thats actually quite handy.  Thanks for your input AC.

Here's one for you:

- Stock shock.  5.1 spring. 105 race sag.  Around 35mm free sag.  

- Ohlins shock.  5.0 spring. 105 race sag.  I'm getting close to 50mm of free sag...?

One is wrong and I'm guessing the ohlins