will I be happy with a 16' 350exc?

hello all,

I'm new here and I was hoping to get some opinions from you guys.

I've been a motocross guy the past 12 years, don't race much but love hitting practice days with buddies, I'm a very average amateur rider. I've always been a yamaha 2-stroke guy, starting on a 03' yz125 and now I've been riding a 08' yz250 since i bought it new. I live in upstate NY, and practice days are hard to come by compared to other parts of the country, and just pounding out laps is starting to get old. 

now this past weekend, I did a practice day at Broome-tioga and they opened up there GNCC loop. I did a lap and I am instantly HOOKED! it's been a long time since i had that much fun on a bike. 

My question to you is: would I be happy selling my yz250 and buying a 16 350exc to start doing woods and trail riding? I would use it primarily for tight GNCC type riding but I really like being able to legally ride on the street. I only need to go 55 down back roads so i thought a 350 would be perfect vs. the 500. I also have an OHV park an hour from where I live where I could get a lot more riding time in vs. what i get now with moto. 

also, coming off of a Yamaha with amazing forks, will the KTM front end feel like garbage to me? or is it just at home on off-road riding vs. moto? 

My yz felt too rigid and stiff on the trails. hard to control the motor on hardpack with low traction. I was craving a supple steel frame and easy to control 4-stroke motor.

sorry for the long winded post, but I want to cover my bases before dropping 10K. I appreciate any insight!!

Patrick

hello all,

I'm new here and I was hoping to get some opinions from you guys.