Checks before heading out?

As I'm very new to this sport I don't know a whole lot about bikes. Over the last few weeks Ive done my fair share of research, where different websites/pages all give you different guidance.

One main thing that I would like to know is what checks should every rider carry out before taking their bike out?

Ive read my manual (KTM 250SXF) back to front but as I've never had a bike before, a lot of it is maybe a little too technical... Although I'm sure ill pick it up over time.

Any help/guidance would be appreciated.

Before each ride:

Fuel up

Check and adjust tire pressure

Check air filter

Check engine oil for four strokers

After each ride:

Lube chain

what i REALLY need to start doing, check spokes once a week or month depending on how often you ride. I ride gnarly rocks fairly quick and so i have a toruqe wrench and need to use it more, i know they are loose right now so thanks for reminding me.

Before each ride:

Fuel up

Check air filter

After each ride:

Lube chain

You forgot chain adjustment.  Check the freeplay.

You forgot chain adjustment.  Check the freeplay.

I run o-rings.  I check 'em occasionally but I usually get two years out of them before they stretch.  I guess there are still people out there that still run unsealed chains for some reason though.

Before each ride:

Fuel up

Check air filter

After each ride:

Lube chain

Thanks gents! I'll need to pick up a tire gauge tomorrow as its something I don't yet have!

Lee

I run o-rings.  I check 'em occasionally but I usually get two years out of them before they stretch.  I guess there are still people out there that still run unsealed chains for some reason though.

Actually, everyone I know does not run an o-ring chain.  Everyone runs regular chains here once they replace the stock one. ;)

Inexplicable.

Inexplicable.