Sign in to follow this  

To buy used WR or YZF?

Hi,I am 18, a complete novice and am looking to buy a first bike. I live in michigan and will be doing primarily trail riding...maybe...just maybe a bit of mx. I will most likely have to buy a used bike because I have about $3500 to play with. I am a college student who needs a bulletproof, fun time. That is why the snowmobiles are getting sold (too expensive). I would really like to know the pros and cons of each, and if possible the top speeds of both?

thanks a lot

I am 6foot and 145lbs so i am a tall lanky guy.

so please any suggestions on which bike would be great. bear in mind that i do not want to outgrow the bike in the next couple of years...maybe a 400/426/450 then?

catmanz440,

welcome to TT. information comparing the features and performance of the two models can be found in the 250F FAQ; see the link in my sig.

in general...

- the WRF gives you a lower first gear (good for slow speed crawling), a taller fifth gear (higher top speed, around 85MPH), and electric start ('03 and '04 models only). the E-button equipped WRF weighs perhaps 25 lbs more than the YZF due to the addition of the battery and the starter. stock, the WRF comes from yamaha a little choked up to meet sound regulations, but you can undo this with the so-called "FREE MODS". again, see the FAQ for info. summary, the WRF is a trail ready race bike.

- the YZF has a close ratio transmission which is designed for MX tracks but is usable as well on the trails. it will top out at around 70MPH. the YZF has no "trail accoutrements", so if you plan on doing organized events in michigan you wil need to buy some hardware (like a stator and some lights). see my sig for some details on the SDM ride. summary: the YZF is very light, very flickable, has good grunt, and is a GREAT bike for a novice rider.