MX Etiquette Q

I was stalled out in a hairpin turn, struggling to get bike started. A hot shot comes around, roosts me with a 1/4 ton of dirt. 

I'm a novice so getting roosted is part of it. But stalled out getting roosted like that? What do you guys think?

I'm a beginner, so for what this is worth. My take on it is that as long as I'm not being run over (stupid close also counts here), or I'm not running over someone else, ever thing else is fair game. Roost away! It is a race track after all.

Being stuck/standing in the apex of the 180 hair-pin turn, you are in the roost zone. Most likely you are on the outside berm and they now have to come inside = you are in the maximum roost zone of a good rider. LoL.

Another thought is that maybe they bleed a bit more speed coming into the turn to be on the safe side. I know my track has jumps very close to the exits of the corners. You need to really get on the throttle in many of the exits of the turns to make the jump that follows.

Roost: sometimes you give it, sometimes you take it.

Just my two cents...

• Like 4

Even if he was passing you in that same corner you would have ate roost it's the fact that your stalled and standing that makes it seem worse. If I'm on a track doing laps and someone stalls I'm gonna stay away but I'm not gonna slow down just so I don't roost them. The faster guys would never get practice in if they were worrying about roosting less skilled or fallen riders.

• Like 1

The faster guys would never get practice in if they were worrying about roosting less skilled or fallen riders.

That's a great point. Something for me to keep in mind.

This guy was a beast. Fastest guy I ever saw in person. Whipping every jump.  Half the riders pulled off just to watch him. Viewers were shaking their heads in disbelief. Anybody else lapping me this frequently I would have accused of cutting the track.