2011 KTM 150 No Mid-Range - Power Valve?

2011 KTM 150 low hours, nearly new piston, FMF fatty pipe, new bike to me. 

Runs great at low rpm and when on the pipe, but there's no increase in power from just off idle until just before it comes on the pipe. There's no surging or poor running anywhere in the rpm, just no power in the mid range, as though the power valve is stuck closed until it comes on the pipe.

I recently noticed that one of the power valve pivot 'axle' retaining plates was stripped (LH side of barrel) so the axle was starting to back out. I've ordered a replacement, but I don't think this could be the culprit.

Thoughts? Any input appreciated, I have zero experience with 2-stroke power valves.

I dunno, but I had a 91 250 and it lost power..  At a race no less,  Tore it down when I got home and I find the power valve shaft had broke on the right side..  So I'd say you're on the right track there

I dunno, but I had a 91 250 and it lost power..  At a race no less,  Tore it down when I got home and I find the power valve shaft had broke on the right side..  So I'd say you're on the right track there

I still have great power when it's truly on the pipe, so i think the valve opens, just not gradually as I believe it's supposed to.

Any other input?

I still have great power when it's truly on the pipe, so i think the valve opens, just not gradually as I believe it's supposed to.

If the power valve is stuck in the down (open) position, you would have full power on the pipe, WFO.

The purpose of the PV is to give you more low and mid range.

If the power valve is stuck in the down (open) position, you would have full power on the pipe, WFO.

The purpose of the PV is to give you more low and mid range.

It has good power just off of idle, far more than any 125 I've ridden, but as I said it just doesn't pick up until it's on the pipe. Could this still be a power valve that's stuck open? Seems like it's operating, but only at the two extremes.