Alternatives to KTM 300 xcw?

I recently started riding again on my '99 xr250.  Looking to get a bike with a little more power for woods, hare scrambles, and recreational mx riding (no mx racing).  The xr250 is pretty decent for riding around the woods in 1st and 2nd gear but it lacks power on the track and is a little sluggish in the woods at times.  

I thought the 300 xcw would fit the bill but they seem to be a little too pricey / hard to find used. Same for the husky te 300... Would you guys go with maybe a cr250r or should I look into the crf450x?  Electric start would be nice but dont know if it is worth the extra 30-40 lbs the 4 stroke has over the 2.  I have never ridden a full size 2 stroke bike, experience has only been on xr250 and xr400

Would like to stay under 5k.  I am 6'2" 200lbs.  Fairly mechanically inclined and can handle most maintenance items.

I recently started riding again on my '99 xr250.  Looking to get a bike with a little more power for woods, hare scrambles, and recreational mx riding (no mx racing).  The xr250 is pretty decent for riding around the woods in 1st and 2nd gear but it lacks power on the track and is a little sluggish in the woods at times.  

I thought the 300 xcw would fit the bill but they seem to be a little too pricey / hard to find used. Same for the husky te 300... Would you guys go with maybe a cr250r or should I look into the crf450x?  Electric start would be nice but dont know if it is worth the extra 30-40 lbs the 4 stroke has over the 2.  I have never ridden a full size 2 stroke bike, experience has only been on xr250 and xr400

Would like to stay under 5k.  I am 6'2" 200lbs.  Fairly mechanically inclined and can handle most maintenance items.

I think you would be happy with a crf450x.  That said, the 300's are great bikes, even older models, and can be had for cheap if you are patient and persistent.  I bought a '07 KTM300XC for $2,500 and I love it.  I was riding a crf450r before that.

• Like 1