I'm about to spend 10K on a dirt bike, is it the right one?!?

Whatup?!

I'm 6'3" and 180 pounds, I'm about to buy my first dirt bike and price isn't too much of an issue but a bargain would be great! I'm torn between a KTM and Honda. I think 450 is the way to go. I'm strictly going to be doing trail riding in the woods. I'm very athletic so I can handle a bigger bike even though I have limited experience. What's the best trail bike to buy? I want it to last for the next three to five years

Thanks guys

Your 'first dirt bike' meaning you have no previous riding experience ?

Even for experienced riders, 450's are often considered too much & too heavy for trail riding.

In your case, an off-road oriented 250 4-stroke would be plenty  (WR250F, CRF250X, KTM250XC-F etc.)

if you don't intend to ride MX tracks, don't buy an MX race bike as a trailbike as there are much better suited choices.

Edited by mlatour

I've heard that the something like a 250 or 300 would be better for trail riding because they shift out of gears better in wood type areas but I'm afraid that because of my size it will quickly become too weak for me. Is a 300 the best bet? I think I'll outgrow a 250 after the first couple months. I've heard a 450 can't really get out of third gear in the woods. whats the best 300 to go with if that's the best size for a trail bike?

Thanks for the replies fellas

Mlatour I've ridden a lot of four wheelers and a dirt bike maybe five or six times but I have a lot of experience with pretty much anything that has a motor. I can catch onto things very quickly but like I said I've heard that 450's can't really get out of third when deep trail riding

Mlatour, I've ridden a lot of four wheelers and a dirt bike maybe five or six times but I have a lot of experience with pretty much anything that has a motor. I can catch onto things very quickly but like I said I've heard that 450's can't really get out of third when deep trail riding