Anyone running 40:1 in your 125

Everywhere I look people are saying 32:1 no matter what, I have a 02 ktm300exc that I run 40:1 with motul 800 synthetic and I really don't wanna buy a new gas jug or mix two. The other bikes a 01 yz125.

I'm running 40:1 in my 2011 yz 125. Runs great, I experience a little oil build up at the end of my silencer from time. Have never fouled a plug

I am running 40:1 with Motul 800 Offroad Racing. Started with 33:1 and 30:1 and discovered that there was some oil/carbon buildup in the exhaust and had a fair amount of spooge coming out after every ride. Note that at the time I was completely new to dirtbikes and didn't really know better. After talking to a few MX people, I decided to try 40:1. The difference is apparent, but not really significant. I am quite sure that using this oil (the 800), a 2.5% premix is well enough for me. Mind, though, that I am an amateur rider, have never been to a proper MX track and have until now only ridden trails or small backyard single-line tracks. So obviously I don't push the bike a lot and even when I do, I don't have the stamina to do it for several laps.

What I also learned from researching 2 stroke oils is that the Motul 800 has a substantially high flash point. Which means it doesn't really burn well if you don't go fast (compared to other oils, for example). So perhaps it's better suited to intermediate and better riders.

Motul 800 ... 525F/274C
Amsoil Dominator ... 201F/91C
Yamalube 2-R 255F/124C

Edited by Narciss
  • Like 2