125 2-stroke vs 250 4-stroke. Which would be best?

I am looking to upgrade to a bigger bike. My current bike is a TTR 125L and I'm looking to get either a yz125 or a yz250f. People keep telling me different things and saying I should get a 125 instead of a 250 and vice versa. I've been riding for a few months and I'm to big for my bike (I can bottom it out on jumps and it feels slow). I will probably be riding a little more trails than track (but both a lot) and also going to the dunes once on a while. Also, I have a low budget. If it helps I'm 5' 8" and 130. Any help is appreciated.

Which bike will you be more comfortable rebuilding. If you ride a lot and rack up the hours at some point you will need a new top end. Look at cost and mechanical ability needed. 

Since you said you have a low budget the yz125 makes the most sense. 

• Like 1

Which bike will you be more comfortable rebuilding. If you ride a lot and rack up the hours at some point you will need a new top end. Look at cost and mechanical ability needed. 

Since you said you have a low budget the yz125 makes the most sense. 

I don't really have much experience on working on bikes but I know basic stuff and know people that know how to do it. Which do you need to rebuild more often and which would cost less to rebuild?

I personally don't like the way that 125 2ts run, but I was also 6' 200 lbs by my sophomore year in school, so I kind of blew right past the 125 stage. 

That being said, there is no denying that the 125 2t engine will be less work and less expensive to maintain, so if the peaky power delivery of the 125 doesn't bother you, it will be a good choice.  

• Like 1

Are all the 125's and 250's pretty much the same and it's just a color difference or are some better than others?

21 minutes ago, FSK_Talon3 said:

Are all the 125's and 250's pretty much the same and it's just a color difference or are some better than others?