A Couple Questions about Valve Specs

This is my first time working on the valves on my 2007 CRF250R and I have a couple questions about the valve specs. One of the intake valve retainers cracked, probably because I mixed up the shims in a previous bottom end rebuild, and I replaced it and reshimmed the valves. I amn't sure what goes and what doesn't in the valve spec range. I'd really appreciate any help on this.

After installing the new shims, these are the clearances with the piston at tdc and the cam marks lined up with the head:

Left Intake: .003" clearance; 1.87mm shim.

Right Intake: .006" clearance; 2.85mm shim

Left Exhaust: .011" clearance; 2.4mm shim

Right Exhaust: .009" clearance; 2.2mm shim

My first question is, is it alright to run the intake at .003" and the exhaust a .009". I realize that the specs are .005" and .011" + or - 1, but I have seen a thread on crfsonly saying that a clearance on the tighter end of the range could actually increase performance http://www.crfsonly.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=28415&sid=02bda1afc22aec22d2fc97b8890e7231. But are these specs too tight?

And my second question, if the clearance for the left intake is on the tight end of the range and the right intake on the loose end will that affect the performance? (sorry, it's my first time on valves). Will one valve opening before the other one cause any problems or do I not understand it?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by DeAndrae Loewen
To add information

Judging by your shim sizes your left intake valve is bad and will lose clearance again quickly and needs replaced soon. If you reshim it it will just lose clearance again and need another smaller shim eventually it's better to get it replaced sooner rather than later. Do you know the history on the valves has the left one been reshimmed a bunch of times that's what it looks like. And while you're at it put a 2.15 shim in the right Exhaust. 

• Like 3