Jetting with the Zook NECJ

I switched to the Zook NECJ needle after a full rebuild (crank, replate, top end) this winter. I am trying to dial in the jetting, but I'm starting to think I may have another issue. Bike is an 03 yz250 almost entirely stock engine, stock squish (.072), and I'm at 600ft elevation riding in 40-50 degree temps currently. The bike is spooging like crazy from the exhaust and power valve puke tube, but seems to run well aside from a slight stutter at 1/16 throttle. Started with 45 pilot, NECJ 3rd clip, and a 172 main. Just swapped to a 42 pilot and 170 main, and it seems to smoke less, but still puking spooge. From my reading that jetting should be lean at my temps and elevation. I'm new to the Zook needle...any thoughts?

Edit: Running 91 non ethanol with Maxima Super M mixed at 32:1

Edited by Bricktop72
  • Like 1

25 minutes ago, LumberjackLloyd said:

Have you done a pressure test on the engine?

Honestly I have not. I did measure the amount of oil I removed from the transmission and it does not seem to be using any. 

Edited by Bricktop72

I'd check your float height, re pack your silencer. I also have spooge running Maxima Super M but i looked it up and it has a pretty low flash point for trail riding I do. Other oils spooge the same. 

8 minutes ago, Hands On said:

I'd check your float height, re pack your silencer. I also have spooge running Maxima Super M but i looked it up and it has a pretty low flash point for trail riding I do. Other oils spooge the same. 

Silencer was repacked after changing from initial jetting with the NECJ so within the last 2 hours. I did not have spooge problems at all with this exact oil and ratio with the stock needle 2nd clip, 175 main, and 48 pilot.

Try the second clip and go up on the main and pilot. I would go with a 50 pilot for your cold weather and low elevation and a 178 or 175 main for starters with NECJ #2.  If NECJ #2 is too lean, get a half clip richer NEDJ and try it in the second clip.