Virginia City Grand Prix?

Has anyone ever rode the Virginia City Grand Prix before?  How difficult is the course usually?

Looking at the various youtube videos it looks like a lot of fun, not that technical and a pretty easy ride.  Videos always tend to flatten a course out and make what is actually difficult look tame, so it is hard to gauge sometimes.  I'm thinking of riding it this year, i don't mind a difficult course but i also don't want to get in over my head.   I ride in northern California usually at Forest Hill, Stoneyford, Georgetown, sometimes Carnegie.  Tx

tons of loose rocks and a couple technical hills but ive seen way more technical stuff in normal desert races. I finished it last year and im just a novice desert racer. i think it was my 4th or 5th race. for the novice its usually a 3 hour race on about a 25 mile course. i dont know if you have raced before or your skill level, but i would say go for it. its an awesome experience starting on main street and everything. classic race.

Did it and finished it 2 years ago after riding dirt bikes for only 1 year. It was tough for me because of the lack of experience riding, but finished and had a great time doing it. Go for it, u won't regret it, they put on a great race, ill be back this year.

thanks for the responses, both of you have convinced me that i won't be getting in over my head.  The last competitive racing i did was 20+ years ago back east hare scrambles.  I stopped riding 14 years ago and only got back into 2 years ago. I've ridin a couple of family enduros in northern California since, they're not real competitive races and fairly short at 50 miles.   The way you describe it i think i would do fine and at least finish a couple of laps.

• Like 1