When is the right time to bump up to a 450cc?

This topic has likely been covered before but I figure my situation is a little different.

Im 25 and weight 155lbs.
Currently I've got about a years worth of consistent motocross experience under my belt on a 2008 CRF250r. In addition to that I have about 3+ years of street riding experience on various 450cc supermotos'. My question is, when would it be appropriate for me to bump from my 250cc up to a 450cc for motocross?
Obviously a years worth of experience on a 250 means I haven't squeezed that bike of its full potential yet but recently I rode a friends yzf450 for a few laps at the mx track and was blown away how much more planted it felt compared to my 250. I'm guessing it was the increase of torque and possibly the small weight difference that made it feel that way. I felt very comfortable on the 450 but at the same time I was taking it easy and could also feel how much of a monster it really was on the mx track and would not be as forgiving as my 250. It may sound stupid but I almost felt safer being able to get over jumps not having to wind the bike out for all it had like some jumps on my 250.
Right now im recovering from a broken foot after a pretty bad crash at the beginning of the month so it's going to be a while before I ride again anyways.

The other reason I feel inclined to get a 450 is because in addition to riding mx, I would really like another supermoto. You just don't supermoto 250cc bikes its just not worth it. So at the end of the day, should the 450 on the mx track best be left to the much more experienced, or would a rider like me with a year under my belt get along well with a 450. I haven't ridden any of the newer models but I think there is a button to switch fuel maps to tame the bike down a bit. That would probably help the transition some. What are your thoughts? Thanks in advance!

Just get one.