Skills assessment

Hey I'm just wondering since I'm startling to really research trials riding now how long it has taken before you could actually clear some sections with your bike and how your skills are now compared to when you first started, also have you done any training programs or bought any training videos or something along those lines, so if you can just chime in let me know.

I've got plenty of experience riding dirt bikes, street bikes, road racing & various other off-road races (MX, HS, Enduro, etc.) and made the switch from Woods riding to Trials about 20 months ago. Started with '12 GasGas TXT 280 Racing that needed to be "tamed down" with flywheel weight and smaller front sprocket to complete 5 "Senior C" Novice class events in 2015. I rode another year (17 competition MotoTrials events) in 2016 and would consider myself somewhere between Sportsman - Intermediate in New England (or between Intermediate - Sportsman in the rest of USA). The easiest lines (Novice or Beginner) can be cleaned with enough practice during your first year riding Trials. The harder lines (Intermediate or Sportsman) are well worth the time spent riding with someone that has the skills needed to show you how it's done and help explain the techniques. I also attended a "Cross-Training" Trials clinic, a NETA Trials School & then my son & I attended "Trials Training Days" at the Trials Training Center in Sequatchie, TN about a month ago and we both learned so much stuff that we now have many things to practice and refine.

I've watched hundreds of hours of Training videos and reviewing them every so often helps to reinforce the good techniques. Practice, Practice and then Practice some more. Once you figured out how to stand in one place balancing on the bike, you can then proceed to more advanced techniques (Hopping, Nose wheelies, etc.). After a year or so, you should be able to build up confidence to clear most obstacles in your ability class.