pennsylvania Blue Mountain Ski area hare scramble?

A friend is trying to get me to go to this event on May 14th..  http://www.evansvillemxpark.com/Default.aspx?ID=12

Though I've been riding motorcycles for 20+ years, I'm pretty freakin new to dirt..  3 days with Ike DeJager has helped a ton, but I still have just a handful of days under my belt.

So the big question is - is this event just too damn much for a newbie?  I'd be in the C Senior class but that only matters if I finish!

You've got 5 or 6 weeks, get out and ride a couple of times a week and you should be fine. All depending if you are really a road racing expert. Sliding a bike around is mostly the same, asphalt or dirt.

That said,  I have zero experience with competitive dirt bike racing. I'm old and slow. So you probably need to listen instead to someone who regularly races in these things.

I'm riding RAC tomorrow, come join us.

Just go and have fun!! I am sure you will have a blast. Then again I have never raced either. lol

17 hours ago, eskimo1 said:

A friend is trying to get me to go to this event on May 14th..  http://www.evansvillemxpark.com/Default.aspx?ID=12

Though I've been riding motorcycles for 20+ years, I'm pretty freakin new to dirt..  3 days with Ike DeJager has helped a ton, but I still have just a handful of days under my belt.

So the big question is - is this event just too damn much for a newbie?  I'd be in the C Senior class but that only matters if I finish!

See if you can find a video on youtube of last years race. That will give you a better idea of how hard the terrain will be.

I started doing hare scrambles last year when is was 52.  Go and give it a try.  Feel free to ask me any questions you may have since i have done at least ten of them so far since last June

C class isn't going up the mountain, only the main is. You should be fine. Might as well go try it. Then you will know where your skills are at.

Did you end up going?