2005 YZ450F Jetting & Tuning

Hello All!

New member, been trolling for a few years from time to time tho.  Quick background, been riding and wrenching since age 13, almost exclusively in dirt, tho I have owned a few street bikes as well.  Even most of the street bikes I've owned I've installed dual sport tires on, as to adventure down dirt back-country roads.  I'm actually a service writer for a local motorcycle shop, but been a few years since I've been in the motocross game.

I recently picked up a fairly clean 2005 YZ450F that came into our shop a few weeks ago.  Suspension is all stock, but it has an Athena cylinder kit, which I believe is the big bore kit.  Not sure who the previous owner was, or how they rode, but it seems to be more finicky than most 450s.  Also, the suspension was basically maxed stiff on all the settings (will finish dealing with that once I get back to the track).  Recently, it was taking 3 or more kicks to start when cold, but stalled a lot in the turns on the S track.  And was near impossible to restart when hot, even with the hot start lever.  A local reputable dealership allegedly rebuilt the carb recently, so I'm confident that the carb is clean, but clueless as to what jets are currently installed.  But, when I went to adjust the air screw with the special Motion Pro tool, it seemed like the air screw was stuck, possibly even bottomed out.  So, I installed a MSR thumb screw and started with the factory spec of 1.75 turns out.  Been playing around between 1.25-2.25 turns out.  No matter what, it had a major flat spot at the bottom, and lots of loud popping out of the exhaust.