09 ktm 450 xcw top end help

Hello everyone!

im sure there has been a post about this but I am having trouble finding it! With that being said, I am new to the site and just picked up my FIRST Ktm this week after years of street bikes. I bought the bike for $2400 but it is burning oil badly and was hoping I could do the work myself to save some money. The previous owner told me it is still original piston and rings (which I know the rings were a problem in 09). I'm nervous bc I have never done a top end before but am excited to learn and I've always preferred working/fixing my own toys. I am planning on starting tomorrow but would greatly appreciate any help/advice you have to offer. Is there anything I need to know before I begin? Thank you in advance!!!

I plan on replacing the top end in my '08 450 EXCR but haven't gotten to it yet (keep spending money on other parts :p). But I suggest getting quality tools when for the rebuild if you don't have a good set, hell get good tools for any work on your bike. I've had times where a socket or tool breaking caused a major headache down the road which could have been avoided.

Cheap isn't good. Good isn't cheap.

Alright guys, I started working on the bike. Got the tank off and fluids drained and found this while taking it apart. Seems to be a lot of metal flakes/shavings on the gear oil drain plug as well as in the screen. Since this is my first time I'm freaking out a little bit and wondering if I have a bigger problem. Can you guys give me any insight as to what I'm looking at? The clutch seemed to slip when I was riding it before, could this be from that? Tonight I will be taking the carburetor off and then the cyclinder....just wondering what my next step should be. 

E83C72C2-58DF-4A6C-89EC-87A99EC172CA.JPG

93D7E19E-767B-47EF-8F1C-677A908B3E03.JPG