125 two stroke, right bike for me?

Hey guys im looking to buy a bigger/better bike and need advice on what would be right for me, im male 6 foot about 150lbs 16 y/o, i have experience with clutch from friends bikes/quads, i have 125cc china pitbike i ride but want something bigger to keep up with my buddys, would a rm125 or yz125 be a good bike for me? I have zero experience on a two stroke and am not sure if they need to be ridden differently from a four stroke etc, i know you mix oil/gas and have to rebuild top end every 50 or so hours, im thinking it would have two mutch power for me and i would only trail ride it down the gravel roads and fields near me, maybe go to a track for fun once a year, would i be able to ride it "slowly" and not be throttled out all the time? I dont know much so i need your guys help, i want a crf150r or some four stroke but thats way out of my price range, only looking to spend $1000-1600 CAD, and are there any precautions and steps to take on 2 strokes to run them good and to no foul plugs etc, give me all your knowledge and advice! 

You would probably do well on a 125.  You are too tall for a 150.  Buy the best condition one you can find and afford.

• Like 1

A 125 two stroke is perfect for someone under 200lbs and moving up.  If you want to not foul plugs, and have (some) luggability, see here:http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/347305-is-your-two-stroke-running-rich-read-here/

http://users.conwaycorp.net/virtus/page2/speed/jetting.htm

http://users.conwaycorp.net/virtus/page2/speed/jetting%20flowchart.htm

Thanks for the help, im just worried itll be too fast for me/my skill level, ive heard changing the sprockets and adding a flywheel weight can help reduce the "hit" of the powerband and make it easiee to ride slowly around trails without stalling, is this true? 

I have a 9oz flywheel weight on my YZ125, it barely makes a difference in the 'hit'.

I find it helps prevent engine stalling during hard braking situations.