Lectron Carb Worth It? 2017 KTM 250 XC-W

Hey guys,

I'm a little foggy on the the whole Mikuni carb issues plaguing the 2017 KTM 2 strokes.  I've read many times that installing a Lectron Carb makes a world of a difference.  Saying that, it seem most of the riders that are experiencing the advantages of the Lectron is due to where they ride - "from sea level to 7,000'" and so forth.  Over and above that, the fuel milage seems to be incredible with the Lectron installed.

I'm in SW Ontario Canada.  Our elevation will fluctuate between 500' and maybe 1000'.  Can I make this Mikuni carb sing?!  Or will there be a big enough benefit to justify getting a Lectron (keep in mind, I have to pay USD for the Lectron, which adds at least 30% to the price after all the BS).  I'm hoping the Mikuni will work, but I keep reading review after review about what a PITA it is.  I'm brand new to 2 strokes, and I'm a little nervous about trying to get this carb dialed in.

Thanks for your input.

Edited by quikcolin

You have been spending far too much time reading forum post. The mikuni carb works pretty good when jetted properly. Its not the best but good enough. Get a JD jet kit, and check you float height. The lectron carbs aren't perfect either and tuning can still be required. 

The problem with the mikuni was the jetting was way off and the float level was to high on some carbs. The JD needles pretty much fixes the jetting issues . But some guys would rather keep trying the stock ones and bitch how mikuni works. 

I have a lectron on one of my bikes and its no better than a properly jetted Keihin or even the mikuni carbs.

I got my 17 250xc over a week ago. Jetting from the factory was way to rich in the first1/4 throttle.  Installed the jd kit, blue needle 3rd clip, 430 main 32.5 pilot. Took a 3 hour ride felt it was a little to rich down low. Went to a 30 pilot and that seemed to clean it up. Probably when the temps go up it will need a 27.5 pilot.