Tires for Crosstimbers Trails - Oklahoma

Hey Thumpers,

I am new to dirt riding.  I picked up a Honda230F for some trail riding out at Crosstimbers (Draper Lake, Oklahoma).  

These trails seem to have it all, rocky hill climbs, some sand up top and red clay mud holes here and there.  So my question is, what kind of tire would suit me best for this area?  Knobby, Trials, Hybrid?  

Honestly, it's the rocky hill climbs that intimidate me the most.  

For those not familiar with the area, it's red dirt clay, but they shut the trails down when wet.  So mostly hard dry clay.

I am not looking to be super moto guy racing all over the place.  I just want the safest most comfortable tire to get my old butt up and around.  I have a feeling these stock knobbies aren't the best choice.

Meh, I rode an RMZ450 with OLD knobbies there and felt fine. First time on any dirt bike period, but have ridden big dual sport bike there as well with 50/50 on the green and grass track without issues. The stock should be fine

Yeah your probably right.  I will put some wear on my stockers for sure.   I admit to being a little spoiled and like to upgrade my toys.   I am just kind of wondering what more experienced riders would prefer for that kind of terrain.  

I have been leaning towards the MT43's.  I like that they are DOT and good on rocks.  My families land is really rocky too.  I might also tag my bike for dual sport in the future.

I rode there with Golden Boy trail tires (Dual Sport) and a friend used knobbie bikes.  Both did well.  There aren't any really steep hills to climb, and I don't remember there being that many rocks or sand. Mostly Okie red dirt.  Get ready for lots of tight turns, and some ruts.  It can be a mess when wet.